Mammoth Lakes Trails & Public Access Foundation


SWG Western Sector Recon Hike to be led by John Wentworth by swger
August 13, 2009, 8:22 pm
Filed under: Field trips

This is John Wentworth. I am going to have to leave town on Tuesday, August 18, and would like to lead a hike this coming Sunday — August 16 — that will examine the western sector of the SATSS study area. There are some great opportunities that have yet to be fully explored in the summer narratives and excellent viewpoints and vistas of the entire area. Sunday is the only chance that I’ll have to lead this hike before having to leave town. Please call me at 934 1279 or send me an email at johnwentworth@mltpa.org or leave a comment on this blog. Haven’t set a time or meeting place yet — looking to see who might be interested.

Best to all,

John


19 Comments so far
Leave a comment

would only be able to attend in the afternoon if you decide to do it.

Comment by elaine smith

Elaine – check back into the blog for an update re: Sunday afternoon – will 2:00 work okay for you? Hope so – ! john

Comment by John Wentworth

John,

Would love to join you but have to work Sunday (at least till 1PM). Keep me in the loop in case my schedule changes.

Maggie

Comment by Maggie Palchak

Maggie – 2:00 PM at the Twin Lakes Parking lot right on Lake MAry road if you can make it – john

Comment by John Wentworth

Interested if you meet in the AM.

Comment by Monica

I also would like to attend let me know what time is decided

-Chuck Megivern

Comment by Chuck Megivern

will plan on attending….let me know what time and where to meet–jen

Comment by jen girard

Let’s try for Sunday afternoon (2:00 PM) – We’ll meet up at the water tank at Lake Mary Road and Old Mammoth Road and walk down and out Tamarack street. I’m flexible on the time and I can follow up with everybody later this afternoon – add your comments here and I’ll check in later – John

Comment by John Wentworth

Currently, I have to work for Sunday. However, keep me in the loop as to the time/meeting place just in case!

Comment by Dave Neal

Okay – looks like Sunday afternoon might work. I’ll be working on Duck Pass tomorrow and will check back in tomorrow afternoon. Make sure you’ve ready the Summer Opportunities list that was handed out at the last SWG meeting – I’ll also bring some copies of the SATSS documents. There’s a handy check box at the bottom of the blog that will send you an email any time somebody adds a post – a handy feature! Will check in tomorrow or come find me up Duck Pass – john

Comment by John Wentworth

I’d love to attend, but I have a race in Reno that day and won’t be back until late afternoon. Take lots of photos!

Comment by Alex Fabbro

John, I have promised to lead a Sierra Club hike tomorrow (Sunday), but would like to join in case the day changes.

Comment by Henning

We have family leaving sometime Sunday. If they are off in time, I try to make the 2:00 field trip. Dubious they will be gone, but keep me informed if any changes in time and location in case I am free to come by then.
–Malcolm Clark

Comment by Malcolm Clark

See you at 2 Sunday

Comment by Patty Schwartzkopf

Let’s plan on meeting in the Twin Lakes parking lot at 2:00 PM. I will arrange to have a car down on Tamarack Street that can shuttle us back up to Twin Lakes. Read your Summer Opportunities Notes and your SATSS alternatives – I’ll bring a camera and we’ll take photos and Discuss! See you all tomorrow at 2:00 at Twin Lakes PArking Lot – call if you have any questions 934 1279 or simply post here – I’m subscribed to the blog and will get all the messages. john

Comment by John Wentworth

See you at 2 PM sun

Comment by Patty Schwartzkopf

Excellent, Patty- we’re going to come out on Tamarack street and I’m thinking we should drop a car down there somewhere – let me know if you can think of a good place. john

Comment by John Wentworth

2:00 PM – Twin Lakes PArking Lot right off of Lake Mary road – right at the outlet water falls. My cel is 213 309 5637. http://www.mltpa.org/projects/ongoing/

Comment by John Wentworth

Excellent feild trip everybody, super producive – ! MLTPA is working on getting the participant comments all typed up and we will then be communicating with Austin as to the best way to bring it forward. Here are some photos form the effort at key points along the way.
http://www.mltpa.org/galleries/SWG_WesternSite_081609/

Stay tuned – the final notes for your review and approval are on the way.

john

Comment by John Wentworth




Leave a comment